PDA

View Full Version : PS2 controller on PS3

okam
28th July 2009, 11:19 AM
My sixaxis is getting worse every day, but I am too cheap to get a new one :P That, and it's fine for most other games than WOHD.

The DS2 that came with my PS2, and which I have been using a LOT for 6-7 years, is still working fine. The analog sticks feel a lot firmer and more solid than the sixaxis, it would probably be great for WOHD. I know there are PS2-to-PS3 converters out there but it sounds like quality varies a lot.

Does anyone have any hands on experience with these converters? Which ones work, which don't? Any recommendations?

Sausehuhn
28th July 2009, 11:24 AM
I have no experiences with DS2 on PS3, but I heard rumble isn't working at all. And of course there's no SIXAXIS support ;)

Haywire_Guy
28th July 2009, 11:30 AM
Yeah ive tried it out- and the PS3 controller feels way more tactile and responsive. The only known converter out there is the usb one, and because it uses the Universal Bus port makes the on screen event 1/4 a second after the pressing action. Good for RPGs, but noticeable on decent racing games let alone Wipeout HD.

You can find some cheap converters here: http://cgi.ebay.com/PS2-to-PS3-PC-Game-USB-Controller-Converter-Adapter_W0QQitemZ180376599475QQcmdZViewItemQQptZVi deo_Games_Accessories?hash=item29ff487bb3&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14

or here: http://www.amazon.com/PS2-Controller-Adaptor-Sony-PS3/dp/B000PS1TG6/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1248780605&sr=8-1

-Hope this helps

Sources:
-Bought a pair myself.

KIGO1987
28th July 2009, 12:10 PM
My sixaxis is getting worse every day, but I am too cheap to get a new one :P That, and it's fine for most other games than WOHD.

The DS2 that came with my PS2, and which I have been using a LOT for 6-7 years, is still working fine. The analog sticks feel a lot firmer and more solid than the sixaxis, it would probably be great for WOHD. I know there are PS2-to-PS3 converters out there but it sounds like quality varies a lot.