PDA

View Full Version : The OS War

Rouni Kenshin#1
3rd December 2005, 07:34 PM
I've been intrested by this for a long time so here goes. What do you run on. I run on Win XP but that is not my choice.

other questions
Is apple really better than windows?
Why?
is Lynuix good(it is free and as they say you get what you pay for)?
why?
Does any body run on any other than these three "major names"?

Lion
3rd December 2005, 08:13 PM
gaming PC: windows xp. if you are a pc gamer, you pretty much have no choice but to run this.

main desktop: mac (mini, running tiger). the learning curve after 8 years of x86 was steep in coming to this, but now I find myself enjoying it more and more. I work in IT so coming home to a closed box "it just works" machine is relaxing. plus it looks pretty by default, whereas with windows I had to hack away at it for a while to get it looking a way I was happy with. Nothing tops expose for task switching and the native apps all tie in with each other beautifully

file storage machine: linux (gentoo). next time I build this machine it'll be freebsd, but generally I am just more familiar with linux (especially gentoo). the improved networking performance makes it ideal for this over windows.
I have previously run linux on my desktop, and a nicely set up linux box is a pleasure to use on the desktop. only problem is how long it takes to get that way, and even then it just doesn't feel like a complete system, it ALWAYS feels like a bunch of pieces brought together. I no longer consider it worth the effort.
that said, I think XFCE4x with all gtk2 apps is a great operating environment

my next machine will be an apple intel laptop (assuming they have at least 2 mouse buttons) as I want to be able to travel with it, dualbooting xp or vista with osx would allow some gaming whilst still offering the it-just-works feeling the rest of the time.

Shem
3rd December 2005, 08:18 PM