PDA

View Full Version : i now officially suck at electronics!!

username
26th September 2005, 10:07 AM
well while i was messing around with my bits and bobs i accidently connected an electrolytic capacitor incorrectly accross a 12 volt battery!
bang!! it almost had me eye out!!
has anyone here hand and eeerrrr mishaps with electronics?

oh and i also burnd my finger really badly!! and now i cant play on the psp as well as i could!! nnnnnnoooooooooooooooooo :lol:

element42
26th September 2005, 11:13 AM
Well, it's part of my job as a physics technician to regularly mis-connect diodes, capacitors etc. I often get shocked / burned / incapacitated / poisoned by mercury fumes. If you think 12v and an exploding capactior is bad, you should try setting up the exploding custard powder experiment. Oh the fun I have :D

infoxicated
26th September 2005, 11:39 AM
As a former electrician I've had my share of bangs and mishaps.

My favourite has to be the time I used a screwdriver to close the contacts inside a fuse box containing a 415v three phase supply across three 120 amp fuses. So that I didn't have to close the safety cover on the box and use the actual lever, I put my screwdriver into the mechanism and used it as the lever. Ka-boom!

Turns out that the safety cover is a pretty useful feature of a fusebox - it stops the blinding light released when the fuses blow from, well, blinding.

My workmate who was standing behind me in the small hut said that all he saw was my silhouette against the opposite wall, accompanied by a bang that echoed around the room. Credit to him, he stopped running after about fifty yards and came back to see if I was okay.

I was fine - a little red in the face from the heat and energy, and my ears were ringing for a few hours, but other than that I'd gotten away with it.

Roger
26th September 2005, 01:13 PM