PDA

View Full Version : Futuristic Racer in development - We need YOU!

atrkid
13th April 2005, 11:35 PM
Hey guys!

As the topic states, I've started about a month ago a project to create a new futuristic racer, and I could think of no place better than here to post about it!

I'm a student in International Business, and also happen to be an old WipeOut 2097 fan! In my spare time, I design games.
So finally a month ago, I decided to get work started on a futuristic racing game project, aimed at online racing, so racers can compare their scores and compete :)

The reason for that is because back when I was playing other games, I had no proper way to get ranking etc.

So, with the help of arts and media students, and coders, we've started making this project!

Project's been going for a month now, but I've been writing the concept document for a lot longer than this, how to balance ships, weapons, and gameplay in general. Unfortunately I cannot disclose any of it here at the moment.

The game itself is a commercial project, and we're paying the people who are helping the project. But the game will be completely free!

As development progresses, we're getting closer and closer to being able to have a test demo. We can already display ships and tracks, but need to improve the code (keep in mind, we're all students here!), and then to add physics etc :)

We're basically hoping that some people in this community will be interested in helping, in order to get the best controls and physics, discuss the weapons system and balance, or simply if they have ship or track ideas and can model them!

Basically we're hoping that real wipeout fans will be able to join the team and submit their input in order to create a good game. The good point is that the game will be open for upgrades, meaning that you'll be able to get new content, and upgrades (graphically etc) as development goes :)

If you're interested, send me a private message or reply here :)
Thanks in advance!

Lance